A Return to Italy

Mood: Ambitious in that ‘I want to craft all day’ sort of way.

Song: Without (Kenneth Thomas Dub mix) by Paul Oakenfold

Snack: None

Drink: Coffee with too much cream and sugar

I am officially back in my costuming mode!

After having several spats with a particular shawl pattern, I’ve decided that it would be better to focus on something else. Like my OH’s Renaissance outfit.

I’ve been thinking up ways I want to construct his Venetians. I recently ran across an Italian Showcase on Realm of Venus where the actual trunkhose was attached part way down the foundation canons. Genius? Possibly. Authentic? I don’t know, I still have to to my research. I do know that in Janet Arnold’s  Patterns of Fashion the canons are sewn onto the bottom of the trunkhose, an idea very similar to my cuff approach. But this alternative revelation also means that I can keep the pants pattern the way they are now and just make the copy shorter.

Eureka!

[Literally. I wish I was watching Eureka right now.]

Leave a Reply

