Insidious the Veil

Mood: Bored

Song: Tokyo (Robert Vadney Remix) by Paul Oakenfold — Black Is The New Yellow feat. Anton Sonin by Anton Sonin — The World Doesn’t Know by Tilt — Miami Vibe (Omnia Remix) by Monogato

Drink: Black tea picked by monkeys

Snack: Apple pieces!

While digging around and finding non-yarn related things to do during my four days holed up in my house, I found a half yard piece of silky chiffon that I bought with the intention of turning it into a veil. I think there was an accompanying piece but it may have been lost in the move. Oh well, now I’m obsessed with this whole velo (veil) idea.

Disclaimer: 1/2 yard will NOT be enough to make yourself a veil in the Italian style, especially those worn midway through the century and on.

So far I haven’t found any sources that suggest any colour besides black and white were worn but I’m sure some courtesan must have pushed the boundaries like courtesans were known to do. Veils appear sporadically throughout the sea of portraiture, drawings, and woodcuts of this time. It’s hard to state for a fact that there was a definite code for when it was or was not appropriate to wear a veil. But it can be relatively safe to say that veils – meant to be worn over the face and chest – may have been worn exclusively as outerwear by young women of marrying age, young virgins, and women in mourning. This assumption is supported by Vecellio’s woodcuts in ‘De gli Habiti antichi et moderni di Diverse Parti del Mondo’. I have to agree with Bella of The Realm of Venus in that I haven’t found any evidence of women wearing veils inside of their home though I can imagine a young woman may wear one when in the company of a bachelor or bachelors within her father’s home.

Anyways, I reluctantly journeyed to Joanns to look at their bead selection for my fan girdle (girdle fan?) and pointed lace for my linen handkerchief. Needless to say, I didn’t find anything that struck me besides these beads with ‘antiqued’ bead caps that were glued on. They were 50% off thanks to President’s Day but the thought of having to paint the bead caps without getting any of the Liquid Leaf on the bead was off putting. That and I’m not sure warm gold would have looked good with the amber-orange bead. Let’s not even talk about the lace selection. I did find some inexpensive black polyester chiffon to practice my veil making skills on. One of the sources Bella cites in her ‘Crowning Glory’ article mentions that the veils were made of crepe.

Me, find natural fiber black crepe with just the right amount of transparency at Joanns? Give me a moment to laugh until I’m nauseated.

So I bought 4 yards of the poly chiffon that I took home and promptly cut into two 2yd pieces because 44″ is not wide enough I worked a simple overcast stitch to attach the two pieces of chiffon together.

Veil - Seam on Lace pillow

The seam isn’t too bulky like a french seam. I’m not entirely sure french seams were used in this period anyway. The circular lace pillow [which was a floral wreath in a past life] helped this process immensely. It’ll help even more when I go to trim the stringy edges.

So before I could even think to cut out the round bottom edge, I decided to try it on:

Veil - Initial try on

It’s the right width but it’s entirely way too long. It’s also super heavy and cannot sit in one place for too long. It also makes me appear to have a striking resemble to the old woman with a candle in the Insidious movies:

Insidious_3

In the picture, the veil is pinned to my hair at the top of my head.  This might be because of the fiber content and the fact that it is not crepe like specified. Organza maybe? I’ll give it a go since I do have some white organza that I have reserved for my partlet.

And yes, I can see very well through the chiffon.

Leave a Reply

