Progress! (Kinda)

Mood: Ready for a nap

Song: Sexy, Free, & Single by Super Junior [The Kpop obsession continues!]

Drink: A certain lemon-lime soda

Snack: N/A

I have officially become a 5 year old again. It’s been a relatively hilarious time standing in my bathroom and draping various fabrics over my face to test visibility, drape, and different ways to pin it to my head in a way that it looks like the veil is staying on by magic. I also enjoy scaring the life out of my brother.

It turns out that scuttling quickly across the hall from your bedroom to the bathroom and back again with black chiffon over your head is a great way to convince someone that there is now a black shadow figure residing in your house. [I think I’m going to keep doing this to see if Aaron Goodwin shows up at my house. Oh the ghoulish things I would do…]

Ahem…Anyway…

After a lot of staring at woodcuts and theorizing, I figured that the veil had to be semi-circular in shape. The straight edge would come to right under the chin. The rounded edge allows for a nice taper down the back of the skirt which is what I would like to have.

So I folded the chiffon in half in away the seam I made was towards the bottom of the veil instead of running straight down the middle. Then I free-handed a curve. I’m not sure what the exact length is but it’s as long as my bed which is a double. This makes for a veil that stops mid-thigh-ish.

Veil - Cut shape

 

[Excuse the bare bed. It was wash day.]

Now that I have a shape that works, I just have to figure out how to do the scalloped edges.

In other news, thanks to Mistress Briony of Chatham, I’m kind of obsessed with pattern darning. Unfortunately, unlike more modern embroidery techniques, pattern darning does not have a lot of videos let alone a lot of documentation to explore. I did find this really great newsletter from an SCA embroidery guild that gives a really good overview including history and influence. Turns out this technique can be traced all the way back to the Egyptians.

Of course I had to take a crack at making my own pattern and this is what I came up with:

Napkin - Pattern Darning Draft

 

I apologize for the slanted view, I was in a hurry to get a quick snapshot. But it looks very pomegranate-esque, right?

I’m thinking about using this pattern as a border for some awesome linen napkins out of the linen I purchased from Sew-Vac last Saturday. [I’ve already torn the yard into quarters to make square face napkins so I’ve pretty much already make up my mind.]

Another amazing Kpop outro courtesy of SM Entertainment!

Leave a Reply

