The Day I Took The Car and Met The Log Cabin Lacers

Today I experienced lace info overload. I’m not sure where to even begin. It was a lot more than I hoped it would be. For instance, I thought we were going to work on our own individual projects and chit chat over tea and/or wine like at knit night but I ended up sitting with wonderful, patient Ruth who taught me the basics of shuttle tatting and bobbin lace. (She deserves so many cookies and gold stars for putting up with my ineptness.)

With her help I made this adorable bobbin lace fish:

image

image

image

Recieved these two cute shuttles to practice with:

image

And got a peek at some beautiful Belgian bobbins in another lady’s bobbin box:

image

This is a hobby I can get behind. Who can resist making beautiful things with beautiful tools?

Leave a Reply

