It’s Pink!

As in ‘Congratulations It’s A Girl’ pink. Or ‘nausea, heart burn, indigestion, upset stomach…’ pink:

image

It’s definitely not the deep vermillion I had intended it to be. The colour is the product of two consecutive dyeing sessions in my washing machine which leads me to believe that the fabric I used to make this underskirt with is not 100% cotton like I thought.

Hmph. It’ll have to do I guess.

But…SLEEVES! [Or a sleeve to be exact. The lining for the second sleeve has disappeared.  Surprise. Surprise.]

image

Forgive the bad lighting; I have become a nocturnal seamstress.

Despite careful measuring I still had to cut off an inch from the bottom edge of the lining. It would have been more but I left an inch to compensate for the ‘rolled hem’ I wanted to do to finish the bottom edge.

image

image

image

I whip stitched the sleeve to the lining of the cuff and am trying to figure out a way to sewing the outer bit to the sleeve without losing the gathered effect at the top. Granted, this is probably going to be the least seen bit because of the dogale sleeves that will drape over it so maybe – in the interest of time – I’ll leave it for later.

I’m not entirely sure how I’m going to attach the dogale sleeve to the base in a way that won’t make it fiddly to attach to the straps of the bodice. I left the top edges of the sleeve raw to eliminate any bulk but this may not have been the smartest thing to do.

Live and learn, right?

Leave a Reply

