All Linked Up

Mood: Chillin’ like a villain
Audio: Birds rejoicing in 70 degree weather
Snack: Chocolate chip cookies
Drink: N/A

Not that you would have noticed but I’ve been spending a whole buttload of time sewing and drafting to relieve work-related stress in the evenings. But lately I’ve gotten the bug to make an accessory. Something bold, dramatic, and somewhat complicated.

Enter the Collared Epaulets of Doom.

The Collar:

I initially draped the pattern using some medium – heavy weight cotton/poly over my mannequin. Her shoulders are about 3/4s of an inch wider than mine (surprise!) so I figured I was safe despite her haute couture hunch. I pinned darts along the sides and centerfront of her neck to make the upper chest area as flat as possible so I could draw the outline.

Pro tip: It’s so much easier to pin the back (overlapping the selvage edges of course) first, the shoulder darts second, and the center front last.

image

Turns out I was only half right about being okay with using her. The result was a great jumping off point but her shoulders were two inches too forward and her neck is more square than my own.

image

image

The remedy was fairly simple: cut the front piece in half to create a pivot point to round out the neckline and shift the shoulder points backwards while maintaining the elegant curve from breastbone to shoulder.

image

I was so happy with the resulting pattern that I forgot to take a picture until I had scribbled all over the fabric. But you get the idea.

image

image

Much better don’t you think? (All seams aside and drafted out anyway.)

Be on the lookout for Part 2 where I decorate this thang!

Leave a Reply

