An Obligatory Re-evaluation

Over the years I’ve become, probably unnecessarily so, cynical about New Year Resolutions. For a while I’ve viewed it as a commercial advertisment for gyms and all things weight loss. Now I view it mostly as a way for the general populace as a whole to garner support for long thought about and much needed life changes. And there is nothing wrong about that. 

However, when thought of in a fishy kind of way, I’m definitely a salmon. And with that in mind, I think I will continue on as I have. Sure, this year I plan on starting new ventures and learning new things but maintenance as a theme appeals to me more than starting from scratch as people are want to do around this time. I feel the need to continue to strive for being more consistent, persistent, and decisive.  Last year I started to find my footing in how to express the identity that, for one reason or another, I have been forced to repress. What reason could there possibly be for stopping such important progress?

Despite last year’s general horrific nature, I have made some decisions I feel really good about. In some aspects, I feel as though I have finally found the right path. Where it leads, I don’t know, but I’m hopeful.

But all this would not have been possible without encouraging words from those that I love most. And besides the dude, I have a few really kick ass aunts who have inspired and encouraged me through this ‘transformation’ of sorts. And to them I dedicate this post. To my Aunt Pat, may she rest in peace, for holeing herself up with me in her craft room to blither on for countless hours about anything and everything. To my other Aunt Pat for having so much faith in my future and her sister for bestowing her vast seamstress knowledge upon me when I thought about giving it up entirely.

May their wisdom continue to help me through this new and most uncertain year. 

Happy New Year everyone! 

Leave a comment